Travelling South East Asia?????

Hi All,

Just lookin for some tips and advise on travelling this part of Asia??
Its my first time going travelling and i plan to go there at the start of August for 8 weeks, i've heard so many great things about the place from other people who travelled there... how cheap it is to travel around, eat, go out, accomodation, do outdoors activities etc..

wouldit be best to get a return to Bangkok and travel from there???

Cheers!

Hey ya Roman-y.

Bangkok is as good starting point as any.
You'l be able to arrange transport to Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia from Bangkok with relative ease.

It's fairly cheap alright.
You can spend as little or as much as you want.
You can get a decent 4 star hotel in thailand for about 20 quid a night.

Where are you planning on going or are you just planning on playing by ear?

Yeah, start in bangkok, and you can do the whole place from there, getting around is piss easy and there's loads of places offering trips in every town. Get yourself a rough guide/lonely planet and get a rough idea of the places you'd like to visit.

8 weeks is loads of time. I did it in 5, but missed out on a few places I'd like to have seen and didn't do the islands in Thailand.

Also, don't bother with Singapore, its shite.

Hey ya Roman-y.

Bangkok is as good starting point as any.
You'l be able to arrange transport to Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia from Bangkok with relative ease.

It's fairly cheap alright.
You can spend as little or as much as you want.
You can get a decent 4 star hotel in thailand for about 20 quid a night.

Where are you planning on going or are you just planning on playing by ear?

Thats great, thanks Dan!
amazing price for a 4 star hotel!! :)

I'd like to all the above you mentioned, playing it by ear for now anyways! I'm plannin while saving kinda of a thing.
Would love to see some of India as well