The next Government

Who will form the next government

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Last time - I never mentioned SF in relation to this nor do I post on their behalf nor am I a member nor in this particular discussion do I care what their policy is - we all know they are not the government and we should know they are not going to be as I have posted repeatedly over the last year or so.

SF are a party I have voted for they are not a party I support in the sense of to the exclusion of everyone else and honest posters will know I have commended Coveney and Richmond in FG without any bias.

Point being relating my criticism of the Greens as ideologically driven to the fact I have voted for SF in the past is irrelevant. Similarly implying I need to watch a documentary to understand global warming is also irrelevant. I have a degree in Geology and Geography I understand the implications fine and well.

A better counter argument might be that we are past pragmatism and past the point where the reality of life outside the M50 to have any bearing on government policy. And to that I would say if that is the case why are other countries able to do what they do and we not? Why does Ireland HAVE to go the ideologically pure route when the Norwegians are not, the Germans are not, the French are not?

Just saying the world is in a climate crisis and therefore Green party policy must be accepted as a done deal is not an argument against my point - it is reinforcing my point. It implies any criticism no matter how it is based can be equated with climate change denial or requiring "real" understanding of the scale of the situation or education of the reality by watching documentaries..

Or we can go the grinding gears route and you can slag me off with the fact I voted for SF in the past rather than actually arguing the merits of my point.