The Lee Sessions Trad Trail

The Gables, Douglas St.

Wed 20 Dec 2023 (note: this event has already taken place)
9:30pm
FREE


The Gables has been the recipient of many awards including Oireachtas na Gaelige music award for pub session. The walls are lined with framed posters from past Cork Folk Festivals, the history of the music of a city, with some featured names of those appearing having played the Gables on many occasions.

The session has been visited by travelling musicians from far and wide with many diverse cultures. They have been tutored in all forms of music, classical, jazz, folk and blues but in some way all are drawn to the allure of traditional Irish music. They are drawn to the allure of the session. The way in which a group of musicians can gather, some having met only for the first time, pick a set of random tunes and yet all know exactly when to start, change and stop, all in perfect unison. Yes the phenomena of the musical gathering that it ‘the session’.




Venue Info


The Gables

31 Douglas St., Cork
+353 (021) 4313076






More at The Gables

Loading....

Sun 5 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 8 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 12 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 15 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 19 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 22 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 26 Feb

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 1 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 5 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 8 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 12 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 15 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 19 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 22 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 26 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 29 Mar

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 2 Apr

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 5 Apr

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Sun 9 Apr

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables

Wed 12 Apr

Traditional Irish Music Session

The Gables