Thumper

Cyprus Avenue, Caroline St.

Wed 18 Oct 2023 (note: this event has already taken place)
7pm
€15



Irish rock band THUMPER are among the leading lights of the booming guitar scene in Ireland.

Their latest single, 'Overbite' ebbs and flows in THUMPER's signature style, shifting from fuzzy, riff-riddled soundscapes with compelling melodic shifts to a subdued, stripped-back rendition of the song's returning motif.

As contemporaries of Fontaines D.C. and The Murder Capital, THUMPER have cornered the noise-pop market with a maximalist approach, stuffing every corner of their sound with blown-out melody and psych-drenched noise. Their penchant for unabashed hooks and saccharine melody, set against their signature wall of sound, sets them apart.

Live, THUMPER are a massive beast. There is a line-up of three guitarists, a bassist, two drum kits, and four-part harmonies, often totally at odds with the chaos below. THUMPER combine intense and wry lyricism with a huge, punk, sonic assault to startling - and hugely powerful - musical effect.

Lead singer Oisín Leahy Furlong:

"With lyrics full of nightmarish images alluding to the failure of a relationship 'Overbite' is the first part of a

Show more..



Venue Info


Cyprus Avenue

Caroline St.
+353 (021) 4276165

cyprusavenue.ie

    



More at Cyprus Avenue

Loading....

Fri 27 Jan

Overhead, The Albatross

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 27 Jan

Route 94

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 27 Jan

Happyalone

Winthrop Avenue

Sat 28 Jan

The Cliffords

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 28 Jan

Saturday Nights - DJ Rowan

Cyprus Avenue

Wed 1 Feb

Vieux Farka Toure

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 2 Feb

115 Jazz Jam Sessions

115 Café And Wine Bar

Thu 2 Feb

Outsound & Hashmaker

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 3 Feb

New Rules

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 3 Feb

Hannah Wants

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 4 Feb

These Charming Men - A Tribute To The Smiths

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 4 Feb

Sugarush & DJ Frequency & DJ Speed

Cyprus Avenue

Sun 5 Feb

Stars

Cyprus Avenue

Sun 5 Feb

Deep Blue

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 9 Feb

Lloyd John

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 9 Feb

115 Jazz Jam Sessions

115 Café And Wine Bar

Fri 10 Feb

Skinner

Winthrop Avenue

Fri 10 Feb

Foo Fighters Tribute (A Foo Good Men) & Qotsa Tribute (Ageofthestonequeens)

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 11 Feb

George Michael Tribute

Cyprus Avenue

Sun 12 Feb

Yasmin Gardezi

Cyprus Avenue