Ursula Burke: These Fragile Monuments

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Fri 07 Jun 2024 - Sun 21 Jul 2024
10pm
FREE


Ursula Burke will create a tapestry frieze which investigates Irish historical, art historical and contemporary representations of guerrilla warfare. The tapestry is inspired by the work of Norwegian tapestry artist Hannah Ryggen (1894-1970) who made a series of powerful tapestries representing images of resistance and highlighting the brutality of Nazi occupied Norway during World War II. The artist has invited Ukrainian weaver Zhanna Petrenko to weave the tapestry, creating a thread between two countries and periods of time - Ireland and Ukraine, both suffering oppression at the hands of a more powerful neighbour and both having common experiences of the devastating effects of famine.

Burke will also create a sculpture of a battle - bruised dog modelled on ‘The Jennings Dog’ - a Greek bronze from the 2nd century CE - which will be covered in hand embroidered flames emblematic of all the houses and commercial premises that were burnt out by the Black and Tans.




Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie

    



More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Fri 14 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 15 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 15 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff: Cruinniú Na NÓg Challenge

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 16 Jun

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 16 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 17 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 18 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 19 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 20 Jun

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 20 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 21 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 22 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 22 Jun

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 23 Jun

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 23 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 23 Jun

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 24 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 24 Jun

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 25 Jun

Wiff Waff* Is Playing At My Gaff

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 25 Jun

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery