Peoples Republic Of Cork
Please note that most events in Cork have been cancelled until further notice due to covid-19.

That Abrupt Magnificence Jonathan Fisher’s Views Of Killarney

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Sat 18 May - Sun 14 Jun 2020
10am
FREE


In 1770, Jonathan Fisher (1740-1809) was the first artist to produce a series of views of this County Kerry landscape when he painted six picturesque scenes of Killarney and its environs. These were subsequently reproduced as engravings which helped to develop the town, lakes, and mountains as a tourist destination, a project begun by Thomas Browne (1726-1795), 4th Viscount Kenmare.
Jonathan Fisher, Ist View of Killarney (detail), 1789. © Crawford Art Gallery




Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie




More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Thu 28 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 29 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 30 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 31 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 1 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 2 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 3 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 4 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 5 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 6 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery