Rita Duffy: Persistent Illusion

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Fri 07 Jul 2023 - Sun 08 Oct 2023 (note: this event has already taken place)
10am
FREE


For her first solo exhibition at Crawford Art Gallery, artist Rita Duffy presents a trilogy of new, largescale works that address urgent themes of planetary crisis and political chaos. This triptych for our times has its genesis in Duffy’s intense series of small, satirical drawings, The Emperor has No Clothes (2020), which was recently acquired by Crawford Art Gallery for the National Collection.

Rita Duffy (b.1959) is one of the major contemporary artists to emerge from Northern Ireland. Encompassing themes and images of Irish identity, history, and politics, her work is often both personal and autobiographical. In her work, she also pays homage to the language of magic realism. A member of Aosdána, Duffy has previously been Artist-in-Residence at Trinity Long Room Hub Arts and Humanities Institute (Trinity College Dublin) and held a Leverhulme Fellowship with the Transitional Justice Institute (Ulster University) to look at the role that visual art has in post-conflict societies.

Exhibition supported by an IMMA Production Residency.




Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie

    



More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Fri 19 Jul

Ursula Burke: These Fragile Monuments

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 19 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 20 Jul

Ursula Burke: These Fragile Monuments

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 20 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 21 Jul

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 21 Jul

Ursula Burke: These Fragile Monuments

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 21 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 22 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 23 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 24 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 25 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 25 Jul

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 26 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 27 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 28 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 28 Jul

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 29 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 30 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 31 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 1 Aug

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery