Professor Brian Cox - Horizons: A 21st Century Space Odyssey

Cork Opera House, Emmet Place, Cork

Wed 15 May 2024 (note: this event has already taken place)
7:30pm
€50.90



Horizons has taken over 250,000 people across three continents on a dazzling journey; a story of how we came to be and what we can become. Using state of the art screen technology, venues across the world from New Zealand to the Arctic Circle have been filled with images of far-away galaxies, alien worlds, supermassive black holes and the latest theories of the origin of the Universe.

What is the nature of space and time? How did life begin, how rare might it be and what is the significance of life in the Cosmos? What does it mean to live a small, finite life in a vast, eternal Universe? Having travelled the world, it’s now time for a final journey around our magnificent and baffling Universe.

Horizons is a celebration of our civilisation, of our music, art, philosophy and science; an optimistic vision of our future if we continue to explore Nature with humility and to value ourselves and our fellow human beings.




Venue Info


Cork Opera House

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4270022

www.corkoperahouse.ie

    



More at Cork Opera House

Loading....

Wed 29 May

Irish National Opera presents Verdi's La traviata

Cork Opera House

Fri 31 May

Irish National Opera presents Verdi's La traviata

Cork Opera House

Sat 1 Jun

I'm Grand Mam presents That's Showbiz

Cork Opera House

Sun 2 Jun

I'm Grand Mam presents That's Showbiz

Cork Opera House

Tue 4 Jun

Seven Drunken Nights - The Story Of The Dubliners

Cork Opera House

Fri 7 Jun

Estoninan Philharmonic Chamber Choir at Saint Fin Barre's Cathedral

Cork Opera House

Wed 12 Jun

The Cork Proms: Heyday - A Mixtape of Irish Rock & Pop

Cork Opera House

Thu 13 Jun

The Cork Proms: Heyday - A Mixtape of Irish Rock & Pop

Cork Opera House

Sun 16 Jun

The Cork Proms: New World Symphony and Rhapsody in Blue

Cork Opera House

Wed 19 Jun

The Cork Proms: There's No Place Like Home

Cork Opera House

Thu 20 Jun

The Cork Proms: There's No Place Like Home

Cork Opera House

Fri 21 Jun

Jimmy Carr - Laughs Funny

Cork Opera House

Fri 21 Jun

Jimmy Carr - Laughs Funny

Cork Opera House

Sat 22 Jun

Jimmy Carr - Laughs Funny

Cork Opera House

Sat 22 Jun

Jimmy Carr - Laughs Funny

Cork Opera House

Mon 24 Jun

Pretty Woman The Musical

Cork Opera House

Tue 25 Jun

Pretty Woman The Musical

Cork Opera House

Wed 26 Jun

Pretty Woman The Musical

Cork Opera House

Thu 27 Jun

Pretty Woman The Musical

Cork Opera House

Thu 27 Jun

Pretty Woman The Musical

Cork Opera House