Paddy Dennehy + guest Lisa Gorry

Coughlan's, Douglas St.

Fri 20 Dec 2024 (note: this event has already taken place)
8pm
€18



As a child Paddy would rush to get a guitar or play the piano very loudly in the hopes that you might hear it and request a song before you left. He was not imbued with a keen sense of subtlety or restraint but he has been working on this over the years.

His first real sense of feeling a connection to music was listening to Mick Flannery perform ‘Evening Train’ on the ‘Late Late Show’.

From here there is a clear trajectory of influences - Mick Flannery led him to Tom Waits. Tom Waits led Paddy to Randy Newman who would lead on to Nick Cave. Other influences would surface in later years but Flannery, Waits, Newman and Cave have formed the bedrock of Paddy’s music.

When he started writing his second album, Paddy lived alone on his father’s small farm in County Limerick. It was a long way from anywhere and afforded him plenty of time to think, write and play with everything on full

Show more..

SOLD OUT


Venue Info


Coughlan's

7 Douglas St.
+353 (021) 4961751

www.coughlans.ie

    



More at Coughlan's

Loading....

Sun 3 Mar

Caoilian Sherlock

Coughlan's

Tue 5 Mar

Comedy Cavern : Open Mic

Coughlan's

Sat 9 Mar

Woah! Mama!

Coughlan's

Tue 12 Mar

Comedy Cavern : Test Tube Babies - An Alternative Comedy Night

Coughlan's

Fri 15 Mar

Seán Parnell

Coughlan's

Sat 16 Mar

Anamoe Drive

Coughlan's

Sat 16 Mar

The Tan Jackets

Coughlan's

Sun 17 Mar

The Céilí Allstars

Coughlan's

Tue 19 Mar

Comedy Cavern : Showcase

Coughlan's

Wed 20 Mar

The Bold Ensemble

Coughlan's

Thu 21 Mar

Post-party

Coughlan's

Fri 22 Mar

Bog Bodies

Coughlan's

Sat 23 Mar

Son Of Crazy Chester

Coughlan's

Sun 24 Mar

Padraig Jack & SAL & David Hope

Coughlan's

Tue 26 Mar

Comedy Cavern : Shane Clifford & Guests

Coughlan's

Fri 29 Mar

Cinder Well

Coughlan's

Sat 30 Mar

Hot Blooded Animals

Coughlan's

Sun 31 Mar

John Spillane - Extra Show Added

Coughlan's

Sun 31 Mar

John Spillane

Coughlan's

Wed 3 Apr

Muireann Bradley

Coughlan's