Lucid Abnormalities

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Sat 20 Mar - Sun 21 Mar 2021
10am
FREE


Thrust into a strange time of uncertainty, it is easy to feel on edge, to be unsure of how to behave or react, to have the impulse to escape or to be elsewhere. Moments of calm are held dear. Alone with our thoughts, the familiar might become alien, empathy may be coupled with suspicion, even anxiety. We relate to each other differently.

Forging new relationships and offering alternative contexts, this exhibition draws together familiar works from the collection by Margaret Clarke, Seán Keating, John Lavery, Daniel Maclise, Norah McGuinness, Edith Somerville, Mary Swanzy, and Jack B. Yeats, with lesser known works that are sometimes startling or troubling in mood or tone.

The lucid abnormalities between or within the works displayed in our historic Gibson Galleries (Floor 1) present an invitation to retune, explore, and experience parts of the collection through a variety of means – aesthetic, material, thematic, or historic. In thinking outside of the normal narrative displays, sometimes new ideas and associations emerge and can bring us forward.

Some

Show more..



Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie




More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Fri 5 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 6 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 7 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 8 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 9 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 10 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 11 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 12 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 13 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 14 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 15 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 16 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 17 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 18 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 19 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 20 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 21 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 22 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 23 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 24 Mar

Complex States: Art In The Years Of Brexit

Crawford Art Gallery