In Transit

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Sun 20 Sep - Sun 20 Sep 2020 (this event has already taken place)
10am
FREE


Crawford Art Gallery presents In Transit featuring artists George Awde (US/Lebanon), Daniel Castro Garcia (UK), Gohar Dashti (Iran), Tanya Habjouqa (Jordan), and Stefanie Zofia Schulz (Germany) an exhibition of photography and filmmaking that focuses on the tentative, limbo-like experience of living between different cultures.

Curated by Peggy Sue Amison (IE/USA) and in partnership with Stadtgalerie Saarbrücken, Germany, In Transit powerfully illustrates the physical and psychological challenges faced when fleeing from unsafe or economically depressed homelands, towards dreams of a more secure future and looks at the deeper discussion of what constitutes citizenship in the wake of the enormous migrations into Europe.

Through their narratives, the artists strive to disrupt accepted misconceptions about immigration and otherness in order to tell a more accurate story. By collaborating with their subjects they give voice to those who must endure mountains of dead time - filled with boredom, sadness, fear, and apathy - while tangled up in bureaucracy in order to become more than merely ‘registered aliens’ or ‘tolerated’ people. The photography and video works in this

Show more..



Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie




More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Sun 25 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 26 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 27 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 28 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 29 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 30 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 31 Oct

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 1 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 2 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 3 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 4 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 5 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 6 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 7 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 8 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 9 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 10 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 11 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 12 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 13 Nov

The School Of Looking: Invisible Light

Crawford Art Gallery