Fixity & His Fathers Voice

Coughlan's, Douglas St.

Fri 12 Aug 2022
7:30pm
€15



FIXITY is an experimental music group led by Composer/Drummer Dan Walsh who is from Cork, Ireland. The tunes are explored in collective improvisation with a fluid cast of musicians from various fields of intrigue.

SInce June 2016 Fixity has recorded consistently with Tenor Saxophonist Emil Nerstrand including a Double LP on Penske Recordings in December 2016 entitled "The Things In The Room", also featuring Guitarist Nils Andersson and Fredrik Persson which was recorded in a single evening at the historic Tambourine Studios in Malmo, Sweden. Since the release of "The Things In The Room" Fixity has continued to expand on questions of the impossibility of stillness and repetition with an increasing network of collaborators and their welcome voices.

Fixity's second LP on Penske Recordings was released in 2019. Entitled "No Man Can Tell" and produced with the Altered Hours’ Patrick Cullen the album features an extended ensemble of Irish and International musicians collectively interpreting Walsh’s compositions by characteristically ambitious and future-focused means.

Alongside these larger scaled releases, Walsh has

Show more..



Venue Info


Coughlan's

7 Douglas St.
+353 (021) 4961751

www.coughlans.ie

    



More at Coughlan's

Loading....

Mon 8 Aug

Monday Music Session

Coughlan's

Tue 9 Aug

Comedy Cavern : Thomas Lawrence and guests

Coughlan's

Sat 13 Aug

Hot Blooded Animals

Coughlan's

Sun 14 Aug

Maija Sofia

Coughlan's

Mon 15 Aug

Monday Music Session

Coughlan's

Tue 16 Aug

Comedy Cavern : Open Mic

Coughlan's

Wed 17 Aug

Niall McCabe (Rescheduled Show)

Coughlan's

Mon 22 Aug

Monday Music Session

Coughlan's

Tue 23 Aug

Comedy Cavern : Tom O'Mahony and guests

Coughlan's

Wed 24 Aug

The Bold Ensemble - Comedy Improv Night.

Coughlan's

Fri 26 Aug

Aisle Of Night

Coughlan's

Sat 27 Aug

Souldriven

Coughlan's

Mon 29 Aug

Monday Music Session

Coughlan's

Tue 30 Aug

Comedy Cavern : James Moran and guests

Coughlan's

Fri 2 Sep

Paul Tiernan with Maurice Seezer

Coughlan's

Sat 3 Sep

Woah! Mama!

Coughlan's

Sun 4 Sep

David Hope & ADT

Coughlan's

Mon 5 Sep

Monday Music Session

Coughlan's

Tue 6 Sep

Comedy Cavern :

Coughlan's

Mon 12 Sep

Monday Music Session

Coughlan's