Bodywork

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Fri 28 Apr 2023 - Sun 20 Aug 2023 (note: this event has already taken place)
10am
FREE


Artists: Rachel Ballagh, Elizabeth Cope, Yvonne Condon, Stephen Doyle, Rita Duffy, Debbie Godsell, Eithne Jordan, Dragana Juriši?, Breda Lynch, Brian Maguire, Leanne McDonagh, Eoin McHugh, Nick Miller, Peter Nash, Maïa Nunes, Sandra Johnston, Alice Rekab, Rajinder Singh and Jennifer Trouton.

The human body is a complex, fascinating, and wonderous entity which becomes both subject and object for the artist. Our bodies can become either the vessel or the weapon of love, empathy, commodification, or manipulation within the realms of community, family, and self.

The works in this exhibition explore aspects of art making that interrogate how our bodies perform under internal and external forces and through lived experiences. In doing so, Bodywork offers a space to consider our bodies and how they relate to our understanding of body image.

Over thirty artworks consider issues around love, familial relationships, gender identity and sexuality, mental and physical health, body agency, marginalisation and prohibition.

Selected from recently acquired artworks from the Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA) and Crawford

Show more..



Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie

    



More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Wed 24 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 25 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 25 Apr

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 26 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 27 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 28 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 28 Apr

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 29 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 30 Apr

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 1 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 2 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 3 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 4 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 5 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 5 May

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 6 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 7 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 8 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 9 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 10 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery