Behind The Scenes

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Thu 15 Dec 2022 - Sun 09 Apr 2023 (note: this event has already taken place)
10am
FREE


Crawford Art Gallery is home to part of the National Collection of Ireland but how well do you know some of the stories behind the artworks?

BEHIND THE SCENES takes visitors on a journey through the Collection as it unfolds across two floors and several thematic chapters, including Making, Conservation, Representation, and Research.

The exhibition offers an experience of the Collection with a twist, venturing beneath the surface of selected artworks to reveal the process of their making, how they have been collected and cared for, and what questions they may prompt in us.

The exhibition provides an overview of what comprises the Collection and what it expresses. Largely focused on painting, but also featuring drawing, watercolour, photography, and sculpture, it presents a rich array of artworks from across the centuries.

BEHIND THE SCENES seeks to explore the Collection in meaningful ways designed to intrigue, confront, and demystify. Ultimately the exhibition considers what a collection might say when asked to

Show more..



Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie

    



More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Wed 29 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 29 May

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 30 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 30 May

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 30 May

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 31 May

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 31 May

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 1 Jun

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 1 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 2 Jun

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 2 Jun

A Matter Of Time

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 2 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 3 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 3 Jun

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 4 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 5 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 6 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 6 Jun

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 7 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 8 Jun

Jan McCullough: Night Class

Crawford Art Gallery