And I've seen arcs that have been incorrectly drawn - quite wonky ones. If this objection is allowed here, then surely there could be an objection if a team were to bring a measuring tape and show that the arc was not 40m from the center of the goals.I just read the RTE report and I realise that the objection is to the effect that it was recorded as a one pointer and should have been a two pointer. So I had it the wrong way around
That shouldn't matter for the objection hearing anyway. If the score the ref recorded was the score the ref allowed, then there are no grounds for an objection (by rule). I just saw the video now myself. The ref raised one hand and the umpire raised a white flag. Totally clear that the ref allowed a one point score. Zero grounds for objection per rule as far as I can see, because the rule is that what the ref allowed stands.
If on the other hand the ref raised his two hands and the umpire raised an orange flag, i.e. the ref allowed a 2 pointer, but then the ref recorded a one pointer. Then that is grounds by rule for objection.
Reality is that whether or not a ref makes a mistake in allowing a score, the rule (and the practical reason for the rule), is that the GAA has to stand behind that - whether the outcome is fair or unfair. Otherwise we'll be hearing objections morning noon and night. There are very very few cases of incorrect recording of a score - so fine with objections for those.

