Training Run Times

I'll be running Dungarvan Sunday. Have yet to push myself at the 10 mile distance.
I've been doing some good track running but I've slacked in recent weeks on longer weekend runs.

I ran a fast 10km about 3 weeks ago so at the moment my plan of attack is try that pace again, my big fear is the adrenaline kicks in and push it 10% too much and I'm goosed after 5/6 miles.
Im in a similar situation, my aim is to dip under 85 mins, well capable on recent training runs but trying to work out how to run it,
Might go with 3 miles sections at 25 mins leaving me with a bit of breathing space last mile, last 1.5 miles are mainly uphill AFAIR,

Im in a similar situation, my aim is to dip under 85 mins, well capable on recent training runs but trying to work out how to run it,
Might go with 3 miles sections at 25 mins leaving me with a bit of breathing space last mile, last 1.5 miles are mainly uphill AFAIR,

Ya, I have no knowledge of the course apart from online reading.

Its described as a flat fast course so when you say hills I presume you mean more of a drag?

Weather looks fairly perfect right now, 10 degrees, no wind

Did I hear there would be pacers there? Was talking to a guy yesterday who paced there but I'm not sure did he mean official or just as a pacer for club mates

Last edited:
Ya, I've no knowledge of the course really.

Heard it can be pretty windy/exposed.

Are we talking hills or drags?

Ya, I have no knowledge of the course apart from online reading.

Its described as a flat fast course so when you say hills I presume you mean more of a drag?

Weather looks fairly perfect right now, 10 degrees, no wind

Did I hear there would be pacers there? Was talking to a guy yesterday who paced there but I'm not sure did he mean official or just as a pacer for club mates
I think around mile 8 there is a drag, mile 9 sees you turn back onto the main road and a bit of a climb, not too severe,