Cyclists

Im not an expert but doesnt it say that that cyclists are allowed to cycle two abreast unless it is not safe to do so or if they are restricting traffic. Even if a single car comes up behind them then they are obliged (by law) to reorganise themselves into single file thus removing the restriction that they have created and allowing the faster traffic to proceed unhindered.
they are then free to resume the two abrest formation and continue their chat if they wish.
Sorry to burst your bubble, but that is nowhere in the rules of the road. It's merely seen as good manners by us Lycra clad accountant fatties to go into single file when it is safe for the car behind to pass. Not on the apex of a blind corner, like.

The only reason you gave is that you were 16 at the start of 6th year. I guess this means that you were also 16 during the second term of 5th year, thus disproving your own argument that you would have to wait until your LC year to be allowed cycle to school.

Anyway, I decided to compromise and say 15, just to throw you a bone, de mange.

I'm glad you agree that everyone should have a knowledge of the rules of the road. Do you think people who don't should be allowed on the roads?

I was just linking the age to something for a bit of perspective

I don't think there should be an age limit at all. Young kids will already be supervised by an adult unless their parents are utterly reckless. I see no issue with a 12 year old cycling to school alone for instance, or a 5 year old with their parent. The majority of the kids arrive to the primary school I live next to on bikes and it's fantastic that they can

I was wondering what might make them understand such a simple concept, a fine clearly doesn't

10 years hard labour would probably do it alright then