Ursula Burke: These Fragile Monuments

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Fri 07 Jun 2024 - Sun 21 Jul 2024 (note: this event has already taken place)
10pm
FREE


Ursula Burke will create a tapestry frieze which investigates Irish historical, art historical and contemporary representations of guerrilla warfare. The tapestry is inspired by the work of Norwegian tapestry artist Hannah Ryggen (1894-1970) who made a series of powerful tapestries representing images of resistance and highlighting the brutality of Nazi occupied Norway during World War II. The artist has invited Ukrainian weaver Zhanna Petrenko to weave the tapestry, creating a thread between two countries and periods of time - Ireland and Ukraine, both suffering oppression at the hands of a more powerful neighbour and both having common experiences of the devastating effects of famine.

Burke will also create a sculpture of a battle - bruised dog modelled on ‘The Jennings Dog’ - a Greek bronze from the 2nd century CE - which will be covered in hand embroidered flames emblematic of all the houses and commercial premises that were burnt out by the Black and Tans.




Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie

    



More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Sun 21 Jul

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 21 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 22 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 23 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 24 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 25 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 25 Jul

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 26 Jul

Mindfulness Tour

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 26 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 27 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 28 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 28 Jul

Sunday & Bank Holiday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 29 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 30 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 31 Jul

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 1 Aug

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 1 Aug

Thursday Tours

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 2 Aug

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 3 Aug

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 4 Aug

From Source To Sea

Crawford Art Gallery