Theo Katzman

Cyprus Avenue, Caroline St.

Fri 26 Aug 2022
7pm
€20



"Modern Johnny is a feeling," says acclaimed singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Theo Katzman in regards to his forthcoming self-release Modern Johnny Sings: Songs in the Age of Vibe, due out in early 2020. “It’s closer to Vonnegut's Kilgore Trout than Bowie's Ziggy Stardust—Modern Johnny represents the journey, the quest, the plight of the singer-songwriter trying to make it in today's music world.”

Known for his rock-and-roll inspired solo albums, as well as his contributions to internet funk sensation Vulfpeck, Katzman has had this feeling bubbling in the recesses of his mind for some time now, weaving its way through his songwriting process and onto his recordings. The feeling itself is multi-dimensional: it's a subtle sarcasm, but not at the expense of sincerity; criticism, but not at the expense of joy; character, but not at the expense of vulnerability.

Modern Johnny is not an alter-ego per se, but he and Katzman do have some striking similarities. Both were born in the mid-‘80s, forming their musical identities from the rubble of ‘90s rock radio, the remains of their

Show more..



Venue Info


Cyprus Avenue

Caroline St.
+353 (021) 4276165

cyprusavenue.ie

    



More at Cyprus Avenue

Loading....

Thu 18 Aug

Stiff Little Fingers

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 18 Aug

115 Jazz Jam Sessions

115 Cafe & Wine Bar

Fri 19 Aug

Brazilian Party

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 19 Aug

The Flavours

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 20 Aug

Pop Punk 101

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 20 Aug

Beats - Saturday Nights

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 20 Aug

JAM Summer Party

115 Cafe & Wine Bar

Thu 25 Aug

Willy Mason

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 25 Aug

115 Jazz Jam Sessions

115 Cafe & Wine Bar

Fri 26 Aug

La Fiesta

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 27 Aug

Guns Reloaded

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 27 Aug

Beats - Saturday Nights

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 1 Sep

The Ocean

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 2 Sep

Leaving Cert Results Night

Cyprus Avenue

Wed 7 Sep

Foy Vance

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 8 Sep

The Magnetic Fields

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 8 Sep

Bangerz - Thursday Nights

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 10 Sep

The Classic Beatles

Cyprus Avenue

Tue 13 Sep

Obskür

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 15 Sep

Hudson Taylor

Cyprus Avenue