The Battle For Cork

St. Peters Cork, North Main Street

Mon 15 Aug 2022 - Thu 01 Dec 2022 (note: this event has already taken place)
10am
FREE


Visit the Battle for cork exhibition in St Peters Cork from 15th August 2022!

The battle for Cork, fought between the National Army and Anti-Treaty IRA in August 1922, was one of the most significant military operations in the Irish Civil War. This exhibition will capture scenes from that battle taken by photographer William David Hogan.

Born in Quartertown, Mallow, Co. Cork, Hogan was a commercial and press photographer who had a studio in Henry Street in Dublin. During the Civil War he became what today would be known as an ‘embedded’ photographer with the National Army and he accompanied that force during the Battle for Cork.

The photographs he took during that time were subsequently arranged by National Army Chaplain, Fr. Denis J. Wilson.

Today they are known as the Hogan-Wilson Collection and are held in the National Library of Ireland.




Venue Info


St. Peters Cork

North Main St., Cork
+353 (021) 4278187

www.stpeterscork.ie

    



More at St. Peters Cork

Loading....

Tue 6 Dec

Chasing The Ball

St. Peters Cork

Wed 7 Dec

Chasing The Ball

St. Peters Cork

Sat 10 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Sun 11 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Mon 12 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Tue 13 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Wed 14 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Thu 15 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Fri 16 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Sat 17 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Sun 18 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Mon 19 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Tue 20 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Wed 21 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork

Thu 22 Dec

Into The Leaves Exhibition

St. Peters Cork