The Battle For Cork

St. Peters Cork, North Main Street

3: Wed 28 Sep - Thu 01 Dec 2022
10am
FREE


Visit the Battle for cork exhibition in St Peters Cork from 15th August 2022!

The battle for Cork, fought between the National Army and Anti-Treaty IRA in August 1922, was one of the most significant military operations in the Irish Civil War. This exhibition will capture scenes from that battle taken by photographer William David Hogan.

Born in Quartertown, Mallow, Co. Cork, Hogan was a commercial and press photographer who had a studio in Henry Street in Dublin. During the Civil War he became what today would be known as an ‘embedded’ photographer with the National Army and he accompanied that force during the Battle for Cork.

The photographs he took during that time were subsequently arranged by National Army Chaplain, Fr. Denis J. Wilson.

Today they are known as the Hogan-Wilson Collection and are held in the National Library of Ireland.




Venue Info


St. Peters Cork

North Main St., Cork
+353 (021) 4278187

www.stpeterscork.ie

    



More at St. Peters Cork

Loading....

Fri 30 Sep

The Lost Gecko and 8 Cellos Album Release

St Peters Church

Sat 1 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Sun 2 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Mon 3 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Tue 4 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Wed 5 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Thu 6 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Fri 7 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Sat 8 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Sun 9 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork

Mon 10 Oct

Reach Out and Touch Me: Ways Of Making

St. Peters Cork