Junior Brother

Cyprus Avenue, Caroline St.

Sat 01 Oct 2022 (note: this event has already taken place)
7pm
€20



An idiosyncratic, challenging and richly lyrical singer/ songwriter, Junior Brother is the pseudonym of Co. Kerry, Ireland singer Ronan Kealy. Chosen as The Irish Times’ Best Irish Act of 2019 and nominated for the 2019 Choice Music Prize for Album of the Year, Junior Brother has built a rabid following thanks to unmissable live shows, and music both excitingly forward-looking and anciently evocative. His strange stories unfold with reckless abandon upon a distinctive guitar and foot tambourine accompaniment, influenced as much by the avant-garde as music from the Middle Ages and his home place in rural Ireland.

In addition to earning a Choice Music Prize nomination, Junior Brother's trailblazing debut album “Pull The Right Rope”, also saw Kealy garner two nominations at the 2019 RTÉ Radio 1 Folk Awards, for Best Folk Album and Best Emerging Folk Act. Similarly, vigorous approval from modern-day Irish figureheads such as the Rubberbandits and Cillian Murphy has furthered Junior Brother's stock, the latter playing Junior Brother several times on his BBC Radio 6 Music Show. Along-side further

Show more..



Venue Info


Cyprus Avenue

Caroline St.
+353 (021) 4276165

cyprusavenue.ie

    



More at Cyprus Avenue

Loading....

Wed 7 Dec

Mockie Ah Clubnight with Le Fil

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 8 Dec

Soda Blonde

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 8 Dec

115 Jazz Jam Sessions

115 Cafe & Wine Bar

Thu 8 Dec

Xero - Thursday Nights

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 9 Dec

Block Rockin Beats

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 9 Dec

Mixtape Fridays w/ DJ Rowan

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 10 Dec

The Love Buzz

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 10 Dec

Saturday Nights - DJ Rowan

Cyprus Avenue

Sun 11 Dec

Villagers

The Everyman

Thu 15 Dec

49th & Main

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 15 Dec

115 Jazz Jam Sessions

115 Cafe & Wine Bar

Fri 16 Dec

The Frank & Walters

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 17 Dec

Live Forever Oasis & Complete Stone Roses

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 22 Dec

Houseplants (Paul Noonan & Daithí)

Cyprus Avenue

Mon 26 Dec

Sugarush

Cyprus Avenue

Tue 27 Dec

And So I Watch You From Afar

Cyprus Avenue

Wed 28 Dec

Versatile

Cyprus Avenue

Thu 29 Dec

The Stunning

Cyprus Avenue

Fri 30 Dec

Abbaesque

Cyprus Avenue

Sat 31 Dec

New Year's Eve Party with Marty Guilfoyle

Cyprus Avenue