Peoples Republic Of Cork
Please note that most events in Cork have been cancelled until further notice due to covid-19.

Daphne Wright: A Quiet Mutiny

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Tue 3 Dec - Sun 16 Feb 2020
10am
FREE


Daphne Wright: A quiet mutiny

15 November 2019–

16 February 2020

Crawford Art Gallery announces a large-scale commissioned exhibition of new work by artist Daphne Wright from 15 November 2019 – 16 February 2020 titled Daphne Wright: A quiet mutiny.

Daphne Wright’s work quietly addresses the human condition and the important stages of life we all pass through, that are at once poignant and mundane. In this exhibition, over two gallery floors, Wright creates worlds that are beautifully eerie: familiar objects from everyday life come under the artist’s scrutiny including buggies, houseplants a fridge and a child’s drawing. Expanding on her existing sculptural practice, Wright focuses on the materiality of dry, unfired clay creating a dichotomy of familiarity and fragility. Wright’s objects are chosen for their momentary quality, these objects are only fleetingly valued in our daily lives.

Two new videos also feature:

Song of Songs poignantly investigates the relationships of care adults have with more vulnerable family members and in the film

Show more..



Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie




More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Wed 27 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 28 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 29 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 30 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 31 May

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 1 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 2 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 3 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 4 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 5 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 6 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 7 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 8 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 9 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 10 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 11 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 12 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 13 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 14 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 15 Jun

Artists’ Film International (AFI) - Part 1

Crawford Art Gallery