Corban Walker: As Far As I Can See

Crawford Art Gallery, Emmet Place

Wed 19 Oct 2022 - Sun 15 Jan 2023
10am
FREE


Corban Walker is an internationally renowned artist based in Ireland who creates installations, sculpture and drawings that focus on human-made systems and perceptions of scale.

In this exhibition Walker’s distinctive sculptural and installation works are sited in Crawford Art Gallery’s historic Gibson and Long Room galleries where they disorientate and reorientate audience perceptions to navigate known familiar spaces of the gallery.

In removing the Gallery’s significant Collection works from the part wood-panelled Gibson Galleries, Walker will create a new work responding to this context which addresses the interplay between space and perception. Consisting of a mirrored installation, the work disrupts and constructs alternative conditions where the viewer may become part of the object.

Along with interventions of recent glass and amber acrylic works including Untitled (10 x 4 mitre) and 129-40, Walker has sited the installation TV Man astride the 19th-century grand staircase where the artist’s image fits, to scale, in a 65-inch screen. Where paintings of eighteenth-century luminaries of the British Empire have previously been sited, Walker constructs and reclaims marginalised

Show more..



Venue Info


Crawford Art Gallery

Emmet Place, Cork
+353 (021) 4907856

www.crawfordartgallery.ie

    



More at Crawford Art Gallery

Loading....

Tue 6 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 7 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 8 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 9 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 10 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 11 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 12 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 13 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 14 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 15 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 16 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 17 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 18 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Mon 19 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Tue 20 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Wed 21 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Thu 22 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Fri 23 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Sat 24 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery

Sun 25 Dec

Eithne Jordan: Mise En Scène, Part II

Crawford Art Gallery