Go Back   Peoples Republic Of Cork Discussion Forums > Tech Forum
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2012, 04:08 PM
i_didnt_do_nawtin i_didnt_do_nawtin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the INTERNET-y
Posts: 17,139
Default Any VMWare engineers here?

I keep getting this when trying to install Snow Leopard from the retail DVD (using EFI firmware) on VMWare Player

2012-07-11T02:36:52.943+01:0 0| vcpu-0| I120: Triple fault.
2012-07-11T02:36:52.943+01:0 0| vcpu-0| I120: MsgHint: msg.monitorEvent.tri pleFault
2012-07-11T02:36:52.943+01:0 0| vcpu-0| I120+ A fault has occurred causing a virtual CPU to enter the shutdown state. If this fault had occurred outside of a virtual machine, it would have caused the physical machine to restart. The shutdown state can be reached by incorrectly configuring the virtual machine, a bug in the guest operating system, or a problem in VMware Player.---------------------------------------
2012-07-11T02:36:52.944+01:0 0| vcpu-0| I120: CPU reset: hard (mode 2)


Any thoughts?
__________________
I know my soccer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2012, 05:11 PM
i_didnt_do_nawtin i_didnt_do_nawtin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the INTERNET-y
Posts: 17,139
Default

added

guestOS = "darwin10"

to the .vmx file and the fault no longer happens!
__________________
I know my soccer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2012, 12:53 AM
i_didnt_do_nawtin i_didnt_do_nawtin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the INTERNET-y
Posts: 17,139
Default

Turns out you need to patch the vmware executables to allow desktop osx to be installed as it explicitly checks that you're trying to install OSX Server (the only one Apple allow to be virtualised)

http://www.mediafire.com/?761goegm1e25cw2

Close all vmware programs, run the script, choose OSX Server 64 (this makes all the necessary changes to the .vmx file so you don't have to do the post above) and install straight from the DVD! Works for me. I think VirtualBox is faster and supports audio but you need special bootloaders to get it to work on that, which I'm not too keen on.
__________________
I know my soccer

Last edited by i_didnt_do_nawtin; 12-07-2012 at 01:10 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2012, 09:03 AM
Joey Beltram Joey Beltram is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: 1992
Posts: 1,680
Default

osx is not much use in a vm unfortunately , as there is no ktext for
QE/CI Graphics

so cant open apps like imovie or frontrow ect...
__________________
http://soundcloud.com/meob/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2012, 07:24 PM
i_didnt_do_nawtin i_didnt_do_nawtin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the INTERNET-y
Posts: 17,139
Default

I'm not too worried about that really, I only wanted to use xcode.

I really can't see the big deal about OS X.
__________________
I know my soccer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2012, 07:39 PM
TastesLikeChicken TastesLikeChicken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by i_didnt_do_nawtin View Post
I'm not too worried about that really, I only wanted to use xcode.
Xcode runs pretty well in a VM but getting USB debugging working is tiresome (assuming you're doing iPhone dev).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2012, 01:07 AM
i_didnt_do_nawtin i_didnt_do_nawtin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the INTERNET-y
Posts: 17,139
Default

Bought and installed Mountain Lion. Load of bollocks really.

VM took over 30 minutes to boot up, waiting for DSMOS was the culprit. Solved by installing FakeSMC.kext. Also found the VMWare Tools for darwin and now have far more screen resolutions.
__________________
I know my soccer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2012, 04:05 PM
Wallace Wallace is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Home Again in Cork Biy
Posts: 14,131
Default

I wonder could I use this to succesfully sort out iCloud

As in install Mountain Lion in a VM inside My existing Snowleopard machine , and use it to access iCloud ?


It'd extend the life of my little macmini ...
__________________
www.egomotion.net
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2012, 04:26 PM
i_didnt_do_nawtin i_didnt_do_nawtin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the INTERNET-y
Posts: 17,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallace View Post
I wonder could I use this to succesfully sort out iCloud

As in install Mountain Lion in a VM inside My existing Snowleopard machine , and use it to access iCloud ?


It'd extend the life of my little macmini ...
I think you have to use VMWare Fusion to run OSX on OSX, there's also something called Parallels but I've never dealt with it. I'm running it on Win7.

No harm in trying it out
__________________
I know my soccer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2012, 12:25 PM
Wallace Wallace is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Home Again in Cork Biy
Posts: 14,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by i_didnt_do_nawtin View Post
I think you have to use VMWare Fusion to run OSX on OSX, there's also something called Parallels but I've never dealt with it. I'm running it on Win7.

No harm in trying it out

I Beta tested VMWare Fusion for a while ,

VM's are portable between it and VMWare Player .
__________________
www.egomotion.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All forum comments are the sole responsibility and property of forum users. PeoplesRepublicOfCork.com and its sponsors disclaim all liability for content posted by users of the forum. PeoplesRepublicOfCork.com and its sponsors do not necessarily share the views expressed in this forum. Use the report post system to have comments considered for edit or deletion. All users are IP logged. Website hosted by Hostrocket USA.