tempobet tipobet Instagram Profiles
Logic 9 - Peoples Republic Of Cork Discussion Forums

Go Back   Peoples Republic Of Cork Discussion Forums > Music Forum
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30-07-2009, 03:48 AM
ber ber is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: b'lough
Posts: 526
Default Logic 9

Great program or greatest program? Discuss.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-07-2009, 07:19 AM
norrie norrie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: stuck in the mud
Posts: 1,032
Default

installing it this evening. the new flex tools and some of the other production tools are savage. can't wait.
__________________
hmmmm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-07-2009, 07:28 PM
KerryDude KerryDude is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottF View Post
I was disappointed that all they added were guitar stuff. Would have loved new synth although I did notice cents tuning on the modeling synth. Sure that wasn't there before but I could of just missed it. Any new samples for Ultrabeat I wonder dosen't seem to say, only more jam packs, cus the samples with 8 were cool but you get through them
Oh,
if only i was given a cent for each time you went on about tuning,

i'd be a rich pitch at this stage!

Last edited by KerryDude; 30-07-2009 at 07:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-07-2009, 07:55 PM
norrie norrie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: stuck in the mud
Posts: 1,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottF View Post
I was disappointed that all they added were guitar stuff. Would have loved new synth although I did notice cents tuning on the modeling synth. Sure that wasn't there before but I could of just missed it. Any new samples for Ultrabeat I wonder dosen't seem to say, only more jam packs, cus the samples with 8 were cool but you get through them
This update was all about production and editing tools. In fairness there's well enough synths there as it is! The guitar pedals are a nice addition but I think this update is a pot of gold for people dealing with audio files; that is, you can now treat audio like midi.
__________________
hmmmm
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-07-2009, 08:02 PM
TastesLikeChicken TastesLikeChicken is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KerryDude View Post
Oh,
if only i was given a cent for each time you went on about tuning,

i'd be a rich pitch at this stage!
Hehe!!!
Your first decent post since you joined. Congrats!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-07-2009, 08:11 PM
madtheory madtheory is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: East coast
Posts: 2,648
Default

Great program. But I'm sticking with Pro Tools, Kontakt and me Lexicon coz I'm a luddite
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-07-2009, 08:58 PM
boots boots is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: cork
Posts: 396
Default

pro tools is sick, changed from logic when pro 8 came out, will never move 2 anything else, digidesign have a way with things
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-07-2009, 02:54 AM
ber ber is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: b'lough
Posts: 526
Default

This update is all about audio editing, which was always the one thing holding Logic back from a studio point of view. The new Flex Time is better than Pro Tools' elastic audio: faster, easier and full phase locked for editing groups. Added to that the guitar sims and the already abundant (and superior) bundled EQs, dynamics and FX - it is perfect for me.
Any program that leaves out plug in compensation so that you have to buy their €8k unit is a bit crap really. It's so important for multi source recordings, you put a good comp on the snare and all of a sudden it's out of time/phase with the rest of the kit. Avid should be ashamed of themselves really.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-07-2009, 06:29 AM
madtheory madtheory is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: East coast
Posts: 2,648
Default

Ya, the bundled eq in PT is crap, and the lack of delay compensation is ridiculous. I find the workflow lovely though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-07-2009, 02:41 PM
joecc joecc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 372
Default

when someone mentions the term 'presets' regarding music production....what exactly do they mean? ?

do they mean a loop (chord loop/drum loop) of material which is already part of a programme? such as you might find in reason etc?

or is it like for e.g. a string sound which you might also find in Reason?

reason I'm asking is that I read somewhere, when producing, one is better to start developing their own presets, which would lead to more of an identity....


ta,
new joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



More events ▼







All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All forum comments are the sole responsibility and property of forum users. PeoplesRepublicOfCork.com and its sponsors disclaim all liability for content posted by users of the forum. PeoplesRepublicOfCork.com and its sponsors do not necessarily share the views expressed in this forum. Use the report post system to have comments considered for edit or deletion. All users are IP logged. Website hosted by Hostrocket USA.