View Single Post
Old 03-03-2016, 11:22 PM
Jim Comic Jim Comic is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cork
Posts: 35,056

SOAK wins the Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2015

Gavin James takes home the Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year 2015

Soak has been announced as the winner of the Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2015 for the album Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade). The judging panel, made up of Irish music media professionals, deliberated at length tonight before choosing the winning album. Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music.

U2’s Adam Clayton presented Bridie aka Soak with her award.

The winner of the Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year was also announced and Gavin James won the prize for the song “Bitter Pill” (Warner Music). Decided by the public via the Choice Music Prize website, there was a fantastic response as fans got behind their favourite song.

Soak received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) - as well as a specially-commissioned award. The sold-out event in Vicar Street, Dublin was hosted by Today FM’s Paul McLoone and was broadcast live on the station on Paul’s show.

RTE 2 Television will broadcast a one-hour highlights programme of the Choice Music Prize on Saturday March 12th at 11pm.

The full shortlist of nominated albums for the 11th annual prize was as follows (albums in alphabetical order):

Girl Band - Holding Hands with Jamie (Rough Trade)

HamsandwicH - Stories From The Surface (Route 109A Records)

Gavin James - Bitter Pill (Warner Music Ireland)

Jape - This Chemical Sea (Faction Records)

Le Galaxie - Le Club (Universal Music Ireland)

Colm Mac Con Iomaire - And Now The Weather (Plateau)

Roisin Murphy – Hairless Toys (PIAS)

Soak – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)

Villagers – Darling Arithmetic (Domino)

Young Wonder – Birth (Feel Good Lost)

The Choice Music Prize in Association with IMRO & IRMA.

Project Partners are: Today FM, RAAP, RTE 2, HMV, Culture Ireland and Music Week.

The Choice Music Prize is organised by David Reid. Irish Times music writer/critic Tony Clayton-Lea is the chairman of the judging panel.

Past recipients include:

2005: Julie Feeney - 13 Songs (Julie Feeney)

2006: The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (Parlophone)

2007: Super Extra Bonus Party - Super Extra Bonus Party (Alphabet Set)

2008: Jape - Ritual (Co-op Records)

2009: Adrian Crowley - Season of the Sparks (Chemikal Underground)

2010: Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History (Kitsune)

2011: Jape – Ocean of Frequency (Music Is For Losers)

2012: Delorentos – Little Sparks (Delo Records)

2013: Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)

2014: The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)

2015: Soak – Before We Forgot How To Dream (Rough Trade)

Further information can be found on:
Cork..... statio bene fida hipsters

CMJ Print
Reply With Quote