PDA

View Full Version : Web Help - tech heads.


shamalive
11-01-2006, 04:41 PM
So I was lamping referrers to the downloads page that I have
(give the oul google ads a click... if ye want like).

And I saw this:

http://search.msn.co.uk/results.aspx?FORM=TO OLBR&q=shamalive's
from
cpc1-nfds8-4-0-cust111.leic.cable.n tl.com
82.21.16.111

So I had a look,
First few results are normal like, then there's these.....

http://www.aboutpearls.net/shining-designer-perals.htm
http://www.bigspaguide.com/110-volt-vs.-220-volt-prodigy-hot-springs-spa.html

(looking at the cached versions)
Linking to my playlist.

What the fuck?
Some kinda scam or whats the story?
Mostly owned by



WHOIS information for aboutplatinum.com:

[whois.melbourneit.co m]

Domain Name.......... aboutplatinum.com
Creation Date........ 2005-05-03
Registration Date.... 2005-05-03
Expiry Date.......... 2006-05-03
Organisation Name.... Darren Mozer
Organisation Address. 1908 Lake Forest Lane
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Orange Park
Organisation Address. 32003
Organisation Address. FL
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Darren Mozer
Admin Address........ 1908 Lake Forest Lane
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Orange Park
Admin Address........ 32003
Admin Address........ FL
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... advancedbp@comcast.n et
Admin Phone.......... +1.9045411156
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax............. +1.6198813010
Name Server.......... ns1.mozerstudios.com
Name Server.......... ns2.mozerstudios.com

shamalive
11-01-2006, 05:10 PM
*bump*

anyone? there's something strange about this like...

i_didnt_do_nawtin
11-01-2006, 05:15 PM
Well, you are a big spa, like

shamalive
11-01-2006, 05:16 PM
Well, you are a big spa, like

Thank you, you've been a great help.

shamalive
11-01-2006, 05:34 PM
Maybe I'm thick, but I don't understand what is the problem there.


I'm wondering why the fuck those spammer type sites are linking to me.
It's not like I'm high traffic or anything...

Bould Tady Quill
11-01-2006, 05:36 PM
I'm wondering why the fuck those spammer type sites are linking to me.
It's not like I'm high traffic or anything...

Come on now sham. Not high Traffic!?! You've seen more sailors than Dublin port!!

starchaser
11-01-2006, 05:39 PM
I'm wondering why the fuck those spammer type sites are linking to me.
It's not like I'm high traffic or anything...

they do that to get into your referral logs, so that the links back to THEM appear in whatever web statistics package you might be using.

shamalive
11-01-2006, 05:39 PM
Come on now sham. Not high Traffic!?! You've seen more sailors than Dublin port!!


Gwanyalanger.
I walked into that one though in fairness.

kon
17-01-2006, 03:02 PM
Methinks twas a bot of some sort, written to sniff out keywords on pages, and build web pages including screen shot and such. I wouldnt say its deliberate, email them and see what you get back? Mine gets included in stuff too, mainly tourism and web site crawled stuff, but not my personal site. If you dont want bots to crawl pages make a robots.txt and try to get them to avoid the pages. I know spam bots prob dont look at this, but its worth a try.

hughjass
17-01-2006, 03:08 PM
It is actually a spamming trick designed to catch out webmasters and people like yourself who actually look at their referrers. Its happened to a site I run a fair bit, nothing to be worried about though, just ignore them...